The Wonder Years "The Upsides"


Sold Out

Sorry, but we're currently sold out of this product. Enter your email address below to be notified if/when this is restocked.
This item is also available in our EU/UK Webstore
This product includes a free digital download after checkout!

Product Information

"The Upsides" is a record about hope. During the past year, The Wonder Years found themselves trudging through their early twenties along side an army of downtrodden friends. It felt like sadness had become the status quo and that didn't sit well with the Philadelphia-based five piece. On a bike ride around the fountain at Logan Circle on the first day of spring, the idea struck that this constant state of defeat was no way to live and out of that, "The Upsides" was born. Instead of a writing format derived from the ideas of one member, The Wonder Years built a record out of opposing influences, colossal arguments and gallons of sweat. The band all moved into a one-bedroom house in South Philly and spent a scorching month and a half locked in a 15 square-foot basement obsessing over every single part of every single song, refusing to move from the practice space until everyone was content. The result is 12 tracks of overly honest pop punk that resonates with the band's past influences like Motion City Soundtrack, Saves the Day and The Starting Line, but also speaks to new influences like Latterman, Thursday and even The Hold Steady. Fans can expect to see the familiar soaring hooks and energetic guitar-driven songs that made The Wonder Years what they are, but will also find themselves engaged in new aspects as the band makes use of different dynamics, instrumentation and structures. In writing "The Upsides," The Wonder Years have created a soundtrack for the hopeful. Throughout the LP, the band continually sings, "I'm not sad anymore" in the hopes that everyone still feeling the weight of the past year can soon sing along.

Track Listing

01. My Last Semester
02. Logan Circle
03. Everything I Own Fits In This Backpack
04. Dynamite Shovel
05. New Years With Carl Weathers
06. It's Never Sunny In South Philadelphia
07. Hostels & Brothels
08. Melrose Diner
09. This Party Sucks
10. Hey Thanks
11. Washington Square Park
12. All My Friends Are In Bar Bands

Vinyl Pressing Information

First Pressing Licensed to Run For Cover Records
20 Test Pressing (Black)
150 Record Release (Black Vinyl, 30 records for each of the 5 record release shows with different spray painted dust sleeves for each city)
200 Blue
300 Orange
400 White (Hot Topic Exclusive)
450 Black

Second Pressing
500 Purple
500 Yellow
500 Clear
500 Brown (Hot Topic Exclusive)

Third Pressing
500 Clear Green (Hot Topic Exclusive)
3000 Safety Green

Things You May Also Like

Quick Shop